Lectures

 

Upcoming Lectures: 2013

Thursday, August 1
Debra Hanson, art historian
“Representations of Daniel Boone in the Art of the United States Capitol”
August Brown Bag Lecture

Wednesday, August 7
Mark N. Ozer, author
Book Signing Lecture: Washington Metroland
August Brown Bag Book Signing and Lecture

Wednesday, August 14
Don Alexander Hawkins, architectural historian
“Graphic Origins of the U. S. Capitol Rotunda”
August Brown Bag Lecture

Wednesday, August 21
William C. diGiacomantonio, associate historian, USCHS
“Of Men (and a few Women) and Marble: A Historian Stands at the Intersection of Biography and Art in the National Statuary Hall Collection”
August Brown Bag Lecture

 

Previous Lectures: 2013

Wednesday, January 9
Mark N. Ozer
“Washington, D.C.: Streets and Statues, Walking in the Steps of History”
Book Signing & Lecture

Wednesday, January 16
Ronald M. Johnson and Abby Arthur Johnson
“In the Shadow of the United States Capitol: Congressional Cemetery and the Memory of the Nation”
Book Signing & Lecture

Wednesday, February 13
Matthew Wasniewski, Historian of the U.S. House of Representatives
“Congressman Oscar Stanton De Priest”
African American History Month Lecture

Wednesday, March 7
Kay Collett Goss
“Mr. Chairman: The Life and Legacy of Wilbur Mills”
Book Signing Lecture

Wednesday, March 20
Maurine Beasley
“Women of the Washington Press: Politics, Prejudice, and Persistence”
Book Signing & Lecture

Wednesday, April 17
James H. Johnston
“From Slave Ship to Harvard: Yarrow Mamout and the History of an African American Family”
Book Signing & Lecture

 

Previous Lectures: 2012

Tuesday, December 4
Moderator: Mark Shields; Panelists: Former Senators John Breaux and Trent Lott, and Former Representatives Beverly Byron, William H. Gray III, and Robert Livingston
National Heritage Lecture: “Comity and Contention in Congress, 1962-2012”

Wednesday, August 29
Don Kennon, V.P. of Scholarship and Education, USCHS
“Fred Schwengel and the Founding of the United States Capitol Historical Society in 1962″

Wednesday, August 22
Donald A. Ritchie, Historian, U.S. Senate
“The Senate Since the Sixties: The Transformation of a Traditional Institution”

Wednesday, August 15
Barbara Wolanin, Curator, Architect of the Capitol
“Brumidi Restoration”

Wednesday, August 8
Charles Johnson, Former House Parliamentarian
“Procedural Changes in Congress”

Wednesday, August 1
Dr. John McCavitt, Queen’s University, Belfast
“Major General Robert Ross and the Burning of the Capitol”

Thursday, March 22
Joseph T. Wilkins, author
“The Speaker Who Locked Up the House in a Fight Against White Supremacy: A Novel of 1890”

Tuesday, March 20
Guy Gugliotta, author
“Freedom’s Cap: The United States Capitol and the Coming of the Civil War”

Wednesday, February 15
Phillip W. Magness, George Mason University
“Emancipation, Emigration, and Revolt: John Willis Menard, the American Civil War, and the Jamaican Uprising of 1865″

Friday, February 3
Owen Muelder, Director of the Underground Railroad Freedom Center at Knox College
“Owen Lovejoy: Congressman, Abolitionist, and Underground Railroad Operator”